Girls on the Run

I sent an email to Girls on the Run to volunteer to help with this seasons event. I have to tell you, when I opened my email and looked into my inbox this afternoon I was so excited to see a relpy. I am officially signed up to participate in helping put the New Balance 5k together. Yay!
Girls On The Run Pictures, Images and Photos
I eventually would like to be a coach with a group of girls, but I really want to know what I would be getting into before I sign up. Anything I do I’m 100% committed. So being a mother of two small children and a police officer’s wife I want to make sure I can commit 100%. I believe it is not fair to the girls if I can not.
Three years ago after I had Lily I contacted Jeanette, the head of GOTR dfw chapter, to be a coach in the area since we did not have one in Keller at the time. After our conversation through email I realized a mother of two (an infant and a 2yr old) and Jayson working nights, it was just
more than I can do at one time. So I am very excited that I am at a point in my life that I can take part in GOTR.
For those of you who are not familiar with GOTR it is a non profit prevention program for girls 3rd through 8th grade. It combines training for a 5k event with healthy living education. Their program instills self esteem, life skills development, mentoring relationships, and physical training.
GOTR of dfw is an independent council of GOTR International which has a network across the U.S. and Canada. Please check if there is a GOTR near you.

I will definitely keep you updated on our New Balance 5k event in April. If you would like to run the race, please feel free to join us!

To register please click here.

Happy Running,
Leslie

Girls on the Run 5k Pictures, Images and Photos

Leave a Reply

