Vegetable Garden and Springtime Fun

We are always doing seasonal themed activities with the kids. This spring we did a lot of hiking (bug box in tow of course), fishing, and we also made butterfly magnets.
Photobucket
We also do a lot of foam sticker activities. The kids love them!
Photobucket

I can finally say I have a vegetable garden, yay!! πŸ™‚ We purchased our starter kit online, and started our seeds in our Aerogarden.
Watch me grow!

Photobucket

Photobucket
Week 1

Photobucket
Week 2

Photobucket
Week 3

Three weeks later we started taking the box outdoors for the seedlings to get used to sunlight.
Photobucket

During that time we did our research and decided on the size of box and Jayson began building it.Photobucket
Daddy’s helper. πŸ˜‰
We got our box gardening idea from www.squarefootgardening.com. They have some great tips on box gardening as well.
Jayson found a local business, Tex-Art Stone Inc, in Southlake that would load up our truck with 50% top soil and 50% compost for only $30! I think we ended up with a yard and a half of the mix.
Photobucket
Wheel barrel rides!

Photobucket

Photobucket
We took a break after this and the kids ran in the sprinklers before we had to get ready for company. I made the best gluten free dessert! I’m sure I will be making it again so pictures of it will come at a later date.
Photobucket

We planted our broccoli, cucumbers, lettuce, and carrots first. The peppers and parsnips needed another week in the aerogarden.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I used marigolds and cilantro for a natural bug repellant. My girlfriend’s grandmother suggested I use lemon dish soap and water sprayed on the plants as a bug repellant. I’ve been using in on the container garden (tomatoes, peppers, & strawberries) and it’s working great so far. I’m headed to the store today to pick up some earth worms and lady bugs for the garden. I have a rain bucket and I have started composting!! πŸ™‚ It should take a few months to get a good compost going. I’m so excited! Now my next purchase will be our hen and an eglu! πŸ˜‰
Orange Eglu aka Truvey's North Pictures, Images and Photos

Happy Gardening!

One response to “Vegetable Garden and Springtime Fun

  1. oooh, so glad to hear that about the 50/50 soil/compost. I hope to start my garden next year! Oh man, I would give anything for some fresh eggs. Darn HOA!

Leave a Reply

