Bootcamp Workout + Some of my Favorite Recipes

With summer right around the corner and swimsuit season knocking on the door. I figured I would start sharing some of my exercises and more healthy recipes with you. As always before starting an exercise or nutrition program consult your doctor. Bla bla bla.

Most of you know that I hurt my back a couple of months back so I had to cut back on my running. 😦 I have been doing yoga in the mornings again and it has really helped with my back pain. So I started doing a little zumba and resistance training, but I guess with my body used to running 35-45 miles a week for the past couple of years it’s really not making a difference on the waist line. My pants are getting tighter so I have tweaked my diet and going to start doing some of my boot camp workouts until I can up my running again.

Yesterday morning I started my day off with half of a grapefruit and a protein shake. After I finished up with work at 11:30am I had enough time to eat lunch and get my workout in before I needed to pick the kids up from mothers day out. I had a large salad for lunch.

Spinach Salad Recipe

2 handfuls of spinach
Sliced strawberries
Sliced almonds

Dressing
Almond oil drizzled
Salt & pepper
Lemon juice from half of a lemon

Sometimes I add red onion, yellow bell pepper, tomatoes, and mushrooms, but I was out. It’s delicious either way!

SPINACH STRAWBERRY ALMOND SALAD Pictures, Images and Photos

My workout:

Warm up- Jog at 4.5 for 10 minutes
Get off- 50 Squats
Run at 6.0 for 1 minute
Get off- 50 Squats
Run at 6.0 for 1 minute
Get off- 60 walking lunges
Run at 6.0 for 1 minute
Get off- 60 side squats
60 walking lunges
Jog 4.5 for 3 minutes
Get off- 50 Squats
Run at 6.0 for 1 minute
Get off- 60 side squats
Run at 6.0 for 1 minute
Cool down- jog 4.5 for 7 minutes

I made my favorite post workout protein shake to take with me to pick the kids up. 🙂

Post Workout Shake Recipe:

1 small orange freshly squeezed
1 small grapefruit freshly squeezed
1 small ripe banana peeled
1/2 cup of non-fat plain yogurt
1 scoop of vanilla whey protein powder
Ice cubes

I put it all in my magic bullet and it’s delicious.
orange shake Pictures, Images and Photos

For dinner I made spaghetti because I planned on a 4 mile run in the morning. I don’t carb “load”, but I do take in some. I am having so much fun making my own spaghetti sauce. I have been using fresh herbs from our herb garden and switching it up lately by using ground bison instead of ground turkey. I really don’t have a specific recipe for the sauce because I make it different every time. I will tell you a few of my favorite ingredients I like to use so far.

Favorite ingredients:

-Barilla whole grain pasta because it has more fiber, omega 3s, and 17g of protein per serving. Plus it doesn’t have that grainy taste most whole grain or whole wheat pastas seem to have.
-Pureed carrots or sweet potato.
-Lemon juice. I know, sounds crazy, but it is what makes this sauce fantastic.
-Italian stewed tomatoes and freshly diced garden tomatoes.

spaghetti with meat sauce Pictures, Images and Photos

I use as much fresh ingredients as possible. It really makes all the difference. Please share your spaghetti sauce recipes! This is an easy dish that can be made so many different ways.

Sharing is caring!
Leslie ❤

Leave a Reply

