Homemade Burger Recipes and A Garden Update

What a beautiful weekend! I do not think we could have asked for better weather right now. My family and I spent most of our weekend outdoors, but first I wanted to share a new workout dvd I’ve been doing to switch things up. My girlfriend let me borrow herTurboFire DVD set. Thanks Kelly! It was created by Chalene Johnson, and it is an intense cardiovascular workout. It’s a mixture of kickboxing and dance, so right up my alley! I love it! FYI- I am a Beachbody Coach for any of you interested in buying the DVD set, you can purchase through my website. Contact me and you can receive a discount. 🙂

We spent most of Saturday washing the the family boat. I’m very
excited to take the kids out on it this summer. They love to tube and have picnics on the boat.

Photobucket

I am not a big meat eater, but with all the hype about In & Out and Five Guys coming to North Texas, I started craving a burger. I honestly don’t see what the fuss is all about with these burger chains. I really do not eat out that often and I definitely don’t see myself waiting two hours in line at a fast food joint. It doesn’t make sense to me that they call it In & Out when you are waiting two hours for your order. Can you guys see me at Five Guys? “Yes I would like the Heart Attack burger please.” lol. 🙂

So I wanted to share some of my burger recipes with you. I made a variety of them on Saturday. I love homemade burgers. The pros to making burgers at home, in my opinion, are:

* You know where your meat came from
* You know what’s in your burger meat
* Fresh ingredients
* You can make a variety for the price of one meal at most places.

It was perfect grilling weather, and I took total advantage. Hope you enjoy!

Wasabi Burgers

INGREDIENTS
2 tablespoons Nama shoyu
1 1/2 teaspoons wasabi powder
1/2 teaspoon honey
1 pound ground turkey
2 scallions, finely chopped
1 egg, lightly beaten
2 tablespoons minced peeled fresh ginger
1 teaspoon toasted sesame oil

PREPARATION
Whisk Nama shoyu, wasabi powder and honey in a small bowl until smooth. Set aside.
Put turkey meat into a large bowl. Add scallions, egg, ginger and oil;
stir to combine. Form the mixture into 4 patties. The mixture will be
moist and loose, but holds together nicely once the first side is
cooked.
Heat grill over medium heat. Add the patties and cook for 4 minutes. Turn and continue to cook until firm and fragrant, about 3 minutes. Spoon the reserved wasabi glaze evenly over the burgers and cook for 15 seconds more. Serve immediately.
You can serve on a bed of greens with carrots and cucumbers. I love
to sprinkle a little sesame seeds on mine. If you use a whole grain bun go for mayo with olive oil or even a hummus spread is fantastic!

Horseradish and Jalapino Burgers (Jayson’s favorite)

INGREDIENTS
1/2 cup chopped onion
2 tablespoons bottled horseradish
3/4 teaspoon finely chopped garlic
1 thinly sliced jalapino pepper
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 pound of ground bison

PREPARATION
In a medium bowl, thoroughly combine onion, fresh sliced jalapino, horseradish, garlic, salt and pepper. Add the bison and lightly combine, taking care not to overwork the meat. With dampened
hands, form the meat into 4 patties.

Place on a lined baking sheet, cover loosely with plastic wrap and chill for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, light the grill. Cook the burgers for 4 to 5 minutes on each side, until done to your liking.

These are delicious! Jayson likes them spicy so he even adds a little horseradish spread to his bun before eating. I have also added cubes of smoked cheddar in these burgers. So good! Keep in mind this means more fat and calories so it should probably be a cheat meal. 😉

Portobello Mushroom Burgers (for my vegetarian friends)

INGREDIENTS
4 medium portobello mushrooms
1 medium onion
3 tbsp EVOO
Salt and pepper to taste
2tbsp low-fat yogurt
1/2 tsp minced garlic
4 orowheat sandwich thins
4 roasted peppers
Nama Shoyu
1 avocado

PREPARATION
Marinate mushrooms in Nama shoyu. Heat grill, cook 5 minutes on each side, turning once. Place on plate. In skillet, cook onion slices
until golden, about 8 minutes, turning occasionally.

Meanwhile, combine in small bowl, 1/2 of the avocado, yogurt, garlic and remaining 1/4 teaspoon each salt and pepper; mash until
smooth.

Spoon onions and roasted peppers into mushroom cavities, divided equally. Spread smooth Avocado mixture on bottom of each
sandwich thin; top each with stuffed mushrooms.

Top with remaining sliced avocado. Cover with tops of sandwich thins.

Makes 4 vegetarian portobello mushroom burgers. These are great and definitely a summer favorite.

I put tons of veggies on my burgers. You will often find sprouts, cucumbers, tomatoes, lettuce, jalapino, avocado, red onion, and even orange or yellow bell peppers. Load it up with veggies! It’s delish!

Please feel free to share your favorite healthy burger recipe! 🙂

How about a garden update?

Photobucket

Cucumbers! I’m very excited about these because this is something that is always in our refrigerator.
Photobucket

Romain lettuce!
Photobucket

Carrots!
Photobucket

I’m so excited about our broccoli! 🙂
Photobucket

Here is our friend, George. He has been around our yard for several years now. Living under the fort and snacking on June bugs on the front porch.
Photobucket

What are you growing in your garden?

Happy gardening,
Leslie

Leave a Reply

