Tortilla Crusted Talapia and Lemon Couscous

Monday was the start of a new session of TKB (turbo kickboxing). I am LOVING this class! It is a great workout and I give enormous credit to the instructor. She has a wonderful fun energy about her. She motivates me. Hey, even I need a little motivation at times. πŸ™‚ I really feel like I am learning from her as well. I love having friendships where you learn from each other and I’m working on surrounding myself with like minded people. Not to mention she’s easy on the eyes guys. πŸ˜‰ All the girls in the class are so friendly. If someone new joins in they walk right in and we make room. There’s no “territory” in this class, and if you have taken a class at a gym you know exactly what I’m talking about. Ha ha. I really want to thank my friend Abby for talking me into joining this class with her. It was time for me to change things up and the best part is my back feels great! Yay!

So for dinner I was looking for something quick and easy. The thought of standing over a hot stove after entertaining two kids in 100 degree weather was NOT appealing. I wanted it healthy and something the whole family would enjoy.

Tortilla Crusted Talapia with Lemon Couscous and Steamed Asparagus.
Photobucket

This is seriously one of the easiest and delicious meals to make. This is a lemon inspired meal. πŸ™‚ There is fresh lemon on the asparagus, lemon on the fish, and lemon in the couscous. That’s it! My next project…get a lemon tree! It makes sense. It’s something always in the house, and I cook with it a lot. Why not grow my own? It’s a done deal. πŸ˜‰
So the tortilla crusted talapia I found in the freezer section at Costco years ago. Lately I’ve been buying it at Sprouts or Central Market. You bake it at 375 for 30 minutes and it comes out mouth watering delicious! The couscous is simple. I buy the Near East brand. You can get this at your local grocery store. This time I used the garlic and olive oil one. It takes maybe 5 minutes to make and I just added lots of fresh lemon. You can add whatever vegetables you like. In this dish I have sliced black olives, yellow, and red bell pepper. Now just steam your asparagus. We like ours crisp and with a crunch so I leave ours slightly undercooked. Squeeze some fresh lemon on your asparagus and sprinkle with a little sea salt and there you have it!

For dessert we had fresh fruit.
Photobucket
Strawberries and white peaches. Now how easy was that?! Enjoy. πŸ™‚

Happy Healthy Eating!

Leave a Reply

