Avocado Pasta

When I came across this recipe on one of my favorite websites,Oh She Glows, I just knew I had to try it. The combination of avocado, lemon, basil, and garlic on pasta sounded amazing. I was a little nervous in hopes that it would be something the whole family would enjoy. It turned out fantastic and was a hit for the whole family!

Avocado Pasta
Photobucket

Ingredients:
2 medium avocados
2 large lemons
3 cloves of garlic
1/2 cup of fresh basil
3 tbsp of olive oil
Sea salt (to taste)

In this recipe I used Barilla thin spaghetti multigrain pasta. I love this pasta because it doesn’t have that grainy texture that some wholegrain pastas do. It also has 17g of protein per serving so it’s a great source of protein and omega 3s. You can make this recipe gluten free by just using gluten free pasta. πŸ™‚

Directions:
Make your pasta according to instructions on box. While pasta is cooking put garlic, olive oil, and lemon juice in the food processor and blend until smooth. Then add avocado, basil, and salt. Blend until creamy and smooth. Once pasta is finished, drain and pour avocado sauce over pasta and toss until completely coated. Serve immediately. Enjoy!

Now I didn’t tell my husband this came from a vegetarian website. πŸ˜‰ haha. This recipe really was delish and healthy. Think about all the health benefits. The multigrain pasta, lemon, garlic, evoo, basil, and of course avocado. I’m very excited to share my version of Angela Liddon’s 15 Minute Avocado Pasta with you. I hope you like it as much as we did!

Happy Healthy Eating! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

