Raw AND Delish! Recipes

I am so excited to share these new recipes with you! I came across them while looking for juicing recipes. Of course I am a fan of raw and non processed foods. My mother gave me a recipe book a couple of years ago called RAWvolution. I liked the recipes and the idea, but it was really difficult to find a recipe that the whole family was happy with in the book. These recipes are easy to prepare with few ingredients and something the whole family can enjoy.

Kale and Avocado Salad
Photobucket

Ingredients:
1 small bunch of Kale
1 small Avocado
Sea salt
1/2 of a Lemon
A handful of Cherry tomatoes quartered
2 Green onions chopped
Flax seed oil

Directions:
Wash and cut kale into small 1/2 inch pieces. The key here is that they aren’t too big because it will change the flavor of the salad completely. Place kale in bowl and drizzle a little flax seed oil over the kale. Then mix together with your hands crunching the kale making it a dark green color. Once kale is coated with the flax seed oil, add your avocado. Mix with hands as well until the avocado coats the kale. Add your sea salt, tomatoes, onion, and lemon juice. Mix well and enjoy!!

Italian Flax Seed and Pepita Crackers
Photobucket

Ingredients:
1 cup flax seeds
1 cup of pepitas (Mexican pumpkin seeds)
1 red bell pepper
3 large basil leaves
2-3 cups fresh tomatoes
Juice of 1 lemon
1 clove of fresh garlic
1 green onion
Sesame seeds

Directions:
Blend all ingredients together in a food processor, minus the pepitas. Add water if a little too dry. Once mixture is blended add pepitas and mix well.
Press mixture flat onto a Paraflexx sheet making sure that the mixture is very thin. (The thicker the cracker the longer to dry). Sprinkle sesame seeds over mixture.
You can score the size of crackers if you’d like with a knife or spatula before dehydrating, or you can just break them in pieces once dehydrated like I do.
These will keep for months in an air tight container. I have been eating these with hummus or sliced avocado. Enjoy!

Now this recipe is an old favorite that my friend, Sunny, and I put together. It puts a twist on the traditional cucumber, tomato, onion, and vinegar salad that I’m sure every Texan has had. 🙂
Cucumber Salad
Photobucket
Ingredients:
1 English cucumber
1 garlic clove minced
Sesame seeds
Rice vinegar

Directions:
Slice cucumber very thin. Place cucumbers in an air tight container and add rice vinegar. Just enough to cover the top of the cucumbers. Add garlic and sprinkle sesame seeds over the cucumbers. Give it a good stir and cover. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours. Love this dish!!

How about a fitness update?
PiYo Pictures, Images and Photos
PiYo is a fusion of pilates and yoga. It’s a core conditioning and strength training workout. It has intense choreography and it’s challenging. You will be sweating bullets! I started taking PiYo Tuesday and Thursday mornings about two weeks ago. I can already tell a difference. My balance has improved, my core is stronger, and I feel more flexible. I am really loving it. Again, I give a lot of credit to the instructor, because she really is awesome at what she does and you can tell she loves it.
I’m still taking Turbo .
Turbo Fire Logo Pictures, Images and Photos
I am SO addicted to this class! I look forward to the days I have Turbo and can’t get out the door fast enough to get to class. I have made some new friends in the class as well. It is so nice to meet people and make friends that share similar interests. One of the friends that I have made loves to juice as well. So since I’ve been on the hunt to find a vegetable juice recipe that I like she let me borrow her Jack Lalane juice recipe book! With that said I was off to Sprouts!
Now I couldn’t go to Sprouts without getting a few of my favorites…;-)
Photobucket
We love Kombutcha!

I tried a couple of recipes. I haven’t found one that I just love, but I did find one that was pretty good. It’s called Super Boost in the recipe book.

Ingredients:
3 tomatoes
1/4 red pepper
1/4 green pepper (I used orange)
2 cloves of garlic
1/4 jalepino
1/4 onion
1 celery stalk

Photobucket

Cheers! Happy Juicing!

Leave a Reply

