Butternut Squash Soup and Sweet Potato Fries!

I just LOVE Fall. It’s my favorite time of year! Yesterday the kids and I spent the afternoon putting up Fall and Halloween decorations. I even have a themed bathroom set. I know…I’m lame, but we have so much fun! πŸ˜‰

Real quick I did want to share my new favorite lunch recipe that I got off of the TurboFire 5 Day Inferno nutrition plan.
Photobucket
Egg Salad Wrap and Side Salad

Ingredients:
2 hard boiled eggs, yolk removed from one
1/4 cup of low-fat cottage cheese
Whole wheat tortilla (approx. 50-70 calories)
1 Tbsp Dijon mustard (I use jalapeΓ±o/cilantro mustard)
Salt & pepper to taste

Directions: Chop up hard boiled egg and mix with cottage cheese, mustard, salt & pepper. Place onto tortilla and wrap. Serve with 2 cups of mixed greens, tomatoes, and 1 tsp. of balsamic vinegar. Toss all ingredients. Enjoy!

Last week I was so fortunate that a friend thought of me when her co-op in her neighborhood was a person short. I paid $20 for all of this produce from the Dallas Farmers Market! I am currently looking into starting a co-op for our neighborhood.
Photobucket

Now with all of this food you know I was SO excited to try some of Tosca Reno’s recipes! πŸ˜‰ I am definitely making those stuffed pumpkins on the cover!
Photobucket

First I made the Butternut Squash Soup. It was my first time even having butternut squash soup, and let me tell you…it was devine. I LOVED it! It was thick and creamy. I honestly don’t know why I haven’t had this sooner. Here’s the recipe!

Photobucket
Butternut Squash Soup

Ingredients:
1/4 cup of evoo
1 large butternut squash
3 green onions chopped
1/2 head of garlic
1/2 tsp rice bran oil
1 cup of low sodium chicken or vegetable broth
Juice from 1 lime
Sea salt & ground pepper to taste
Ground nutmeg

Directions:
Drizzle squash with oil and roast. When finished & cooled. Scrape squash into large stock pot. Add onion, garlic, stock, & lime juice and bring to a boil. Reduce heat & simmer for 15 min. I poured mine into my healthmaster and pureed it. Garnish with green onion & nutmeg. It’s SO good! I stored the leftovers in some mason jars I found in the pantry the other day. πŸ™‚
Photobucket

I have finally perfected my sweet potato oven fries recipe! The whole family loves them. πŸ™‚
Photobucket
Sweet Potato Oven Fries

Ingredients:
β€Ž3 medium sweet potatoes, skin on and cut into finger like wedges.
1 Tbsp of evoo
4 cloves of minced garlic
Sea salt & ground black pepper to taste
2 Tbsp of Italian seasoning

Directions:
Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Toss potatoes with the rest of the ingredients. Place sweet potatoes on baking sheet and bake for 30 minutes or until golden brown. I serve them with a homemade spicy mustard dipping sauce.

Sauce:
2 Tbsp of jalepino cilantro mustard
1 1/2 Tbsp of raw local honey
Enjoy!

For a fitness update…still LOVING my turbo kickboxing class M, W, F. PiYo is another addiction for Tues, and Thurs. I have now committed to a half marathon for next year, so I need to squeeze that training in as well. I don’t want to over do it. I’m focusing on properly fueling my body because I really feel that over training and not properly fueling my body led to my back injury. So focus and dedication is where I’m at right now. πŸ˜‰

Happy Healthy Living!

One response to “Butternut Squash Soup and Sweet Potato Fries!

  1. I really enjoyed!!!! XOXOX

Leave a Reply

